NCS Conferred Fellowship on SGF


NCS Confers Fellowship Award on SGF, 19 Others – ThisDay Newspaper

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Engr. Babachir Lawal, was among the 19 members of the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), conferred with the Prestigious Professional Fellowship Award, at this year’s National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA), organised annually by the NCS.

The Professional Fellowship Award is the highest recognition of professional excellence in Information Technology (IT) practice in Nigeria.

The other 18 members that got the prestigious award, were the acting Executive Secretary of NCS, Mr. Iyiola Ayoola, Mr. Akpodigha Filatel, Dr. Chinedu Emeka, Mr. Clement Ayatalumo, Mr. Enyinnaya Ochogu, Prof. Bamidele Oluwade, Mr. Chijioke Eke, Mr. Etim Amana, Prof. Gloria Chukwudebe, Dr. Isaiah Oyeyinka, Dr. Julius Okesola, Prof. Justice Emuoyibofarhe, Mr. Maduka Okafor, Mr. Musa Abubakar, Mr. Sherif Usman, Mr. Temple Iheanacho, Mr. Tunji Gafaar, and Dr. Virginia Ejiofor.

Commending the awardees, the President of NCS, Prof. Adesola Aderounmu said the Fellowship Awards were conferred “on deserving IT professionals that have excelled and have achieved significantly through their works in IT.”

“The Professional Fellowship Award is the highest recognition of professional excellence anyone can receive in IT practice in Nigeria, Being the highest grade of the NCS professional cadre, Professional Fellowship Awards are for IT role models who have made significant impact to the growth of IT in Nigeria,” Aderounmu said.

Born on 2nd October, 1952 in Hong Local Government Area of Adamawa State, Babachir studied Electrical Engineering at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and graduated in 1979 with a Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical, and later bagged a Bachelor of Arts in Christian Theology at the ECWA Theological Seminary, Jos, in 2007. He joined active politics in 2002, and has held several political offices like the Adamawa State Deputy Coordinator, Buhari Campaign Organisation; APC National Vice Chairman, North East from 2014 till date, among other political offices.

Another Fellowship Awardee, the Acting Executive Secretary of NCS, Mr. Iyiola Ayoola, bagged a B.Sc and M.Sc in Computer Sciences from the University of Lagos in 1986 and 2003 respectively, and has over twenty five years of professional working experience in software development and implementation. He is a member of the Computer Professionals Registration Council of Nigeria (CPN), and has served in various capacities for NCS, both at national and chapter levels. He his currently a Deacon and draws his inspiration from God.

Aside the Professional Fellowship Awards, NCS also conferred other categories of awards on deserving IT practitioners who have contributed immensely to national development through the use of IT. They include Honourary Fellowship Awards; Special Recognition Awards;  IT Personality of the Year Award, which was won by the Chief Executive Officer of Omatek Computers, Mrs. Florence Seriki; and Best Software Entrepreneur of the Year Award, which was won by SystemSpecs Software  Company.

Comments are closed.

Join us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Students Arena